Tuesday, August 23, 2016

An Amish Harvest

An Amish Harvest by Beth Wiseman, Amy Clipston, Kathleen Fuller and Vannetta Chapman is a collection of fully developed novellas by these well known Christian writers.  Under the Harvest Moon is by Ms Wiseman and features Naomi Dienner who is in a marriage with an abuser husband.  When her husband meets an early death in an accident she is dealing with the guilt of the relief of not being beaten instead of the grief that everyone around her expects.  Her father has hired an older man, Brock from an English family to complete her harvest for the year.  Unexpectedly she finds herself falling in love with him and her children just want them to kiss and make a baby.  Naomi knows it is too early and she also knows her father would never allow her to get close to an Englisher.  What is a girl to do?
Love and Buggy Rides is by Amy Clipston and features Janie who has just secured a job at the local souvenir shop and on her very first day witnesses one of the Amish drivers of the wagons that they use to carry visitors through the Amish country side get rear ended by a young man that Janie sees is looking down (she thinks he was texting).  The young man blames the Amish wagon driver and threatens to sue the souvenir shop.  Janie's dad says she cannot tell the police what she saw because the Amish do not believe in letting the law of the land handle their disputes.  But how can Janie let the innocent get blamed for what the guilty have caused?
A Quiet Love by Kathleen Fuller is the story of Amos Mullett who is a farmer who is autistic but who desperately want to find a woman to marry and love.  He has always been sheltered by his family but they really won't let him grow up.  Dinah is his stepmother, Judith's niece who has reluctantly come for a visit.  Dinah's mother wants the quiet shy girl who stutters to get out more and thinks that Judith who Dinah is close to will help with that but no one expects Amos and Dinah to fall in love.
Mischief in the Autumn Air by Vannetta Chapman is the story of Eli Wittmer who is an auctioneer who is selling the household items no longer needed by an older couple who are downsizing in response to the stroke of Jacob the husband.  He has been a furniture maker and does beautiful work but still for some reason there were 3 large pieces of furniture that sold for well over what they were worth.  Eli and his bookkeeper Martha go visit the older couple to discuss this and find out that there are parts of a map drawn on hidden parts of each of the furniture pieces.  The map is in 7 parts and this is parts 4,5, and 6.  What does all this mean and how did the buyer know about this?  Could it be about Peter who left years ago after an argument with Jacob?
I liked this collection and especially enjoyed Kathleen Fuller's continuation of the Amos story.  I would recommend this book for good reading by anyone who enjoys reading the Amish love stories and those who are still living the Good Ol Days.
I received this book from Booksneeze for this review.

No comments:

Post a Comment